Sankranti 2019 Dates

Sankranti Calendar for New York City, United States

Date

Festivals

Monday, 14 January

Makar Sankranti

Tuesday, 12 February

Kumbha Sankranti

Thursday, 14 March

Meena Sankranti

Sunday, 14 April

Mesha Sankranti

Wednesday, 15 May

Vrishabha Sankranti

Saturday, 15 June

Mithuna Sankranti

Tuesday, 16 July

Karka Sankranti

Saturday, 17 August

Simha Sankranti

Tuesday, 17 September

Kanya Sankranti

Thursday, 17 October

Tula Sankranti

Saturday, 16 November

Vrischika Sankranti

Monday, 16 December

Dhanu Sankranti

Sankranti means the transit of Sun from one zodiac sign to another sign. In India, this festival is very popular and is celebrated in different parts of country with joy and bliss. Every year, Makar Sankranti is celebrated in the month of January. On this day, Lord Sun enters the Capricorn sign and it also turn towards the northern hemisphere. The time of Sankranti is meant to be very opportune for everyone. People should bath in holy water and donate things to poor and needy. Along with that, they must remember their ancestors by organizing homam. This Vedic festival is celebrated by the people in an enthusiastic way. Prasad of til and jaggery is distributed among people. This festival can be related to nature, season and agriculture. From the nature’s point of view, Sun is being worshipped. In our scriptures, Sun is indicated as the spirit of all physical and non physical elements. It is said that when the season changes, the earth produces grain and through this, maintenance of community’s life take place.